

# Cabinet Economic Development Committee

### Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

## The Role of Digital Platforms in the Taxation of the Gig and Sharing Economy: Release of Discussion Document

Portfolio Revenue

On 2 March 2022, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- **noted** that the government's tax policy work programme currently includes an item on the taxation of the gig and sharing economy;
- **noted** that the discussion document *The Role of Digital Platforms in the Taxation of the Gig and Sharing Economy: A Government Discussion Document* (the discussion document), attached to the submission under DEV-22-SUB-0018, seeks feedback on three main areas of the tax system:
  - 2.1 improving Inland Revenue's visibility of sellers' income information;
  - 2.2 how GST should apply to sales made through digital platforms in the gig and sharing economy;
  - 2.3 other opportunities to reduce compliance costs for sellers on digital platforms in the gig and sharing economy;
- **agreed** to the release of the discussion document, subject to any minor, editorial or technical changes that may be authorised by the Minister of Revenue;
- 4 **authorised** the Minister of Revenue to determine the date of release of the officials' issues paper;
- noted that the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) was separately considering issues relating to contractors and employment status, which may have implications for the gig economy;
- directed Inland Revenue and MBIE to work together to ensure that any overlaps between their respective workstreams are identified and managed appropriately.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

#### Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon David Parker

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Phil Twyford

Dr Deborah Russell MP

### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV