

## Cabinet Legislation Committee

## Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

## Taxation (Use of Money Interest Rates) Amendment Regulations 2019

Portfolio Revenue

On 25 June 2019, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **agreed** that the use-of-money interest underpayment rate be changed to 8.35 percent from 8.22 percent;
- 2 **agreed** that the use-of-money interest overpayment rate be changed to 0.81 percent from 1.02 percent;
- **agreed** that the Taxation (Use of Money Interest Rates) Amendment Regulations 2019 give effect to the new rates referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 above;
- 4 **agreed** that the Taxation (Use of Money Interest Rates) Amendment Regulations 2019 come into force on 29 August 2019.
- 5 **noted** the following changes as a result of the decision in paragraphs 1 and 2 above, with a corresponding impact on the operating balance:

Vote Revenue Minister of Revenue	\$ millions increase / (decrease)						
	2018/19	2019/20	2020/21	2021/22	2022/23 & Outyears		
Crown Revenue and Receipts: Tax Revenue	-	9.000	10.000	10.000	10.000		
Total Operating	-	9.000	10.000	10.000	10.000		

6 **approved** the following forecast change in appropriations for Non-Departmental Other Expenses, as a result of the decision in paragraphs 1 and 2, with a corresponding impact on the operating balance:

	\$ millions increase / (decrease)						
Vote Revenue Minister of Revenue	2018/19	2019/20	2020/21	2021/22	2022/23 & Outyears		
Non-Departmental Other Expense: Impairment of debt and debt write-offs (funded by Revenue Crown)	-	3.000	3.000	3.000	3.000		
Total Operating	-	3.000	3.000	3.000	3.000		

7 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Taxation (Use of Money Interest Rates) Amendment Regulations 2019 [PCO 22181/2.0].

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

## Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Andrew Little Hon Stuart Nash Hon Iain Lees-Galloway (Chair) Hon Tracey Martin Hon Eugenie Sage Hon Ruth Dyson (Senior Government Whip)

Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Revenue

**Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG