

# Cabinet Economic Development Committee

## Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# **Options for Taxing the Digital Economy**

#### Portfolios Finance / Revenue

On 8 May 2019, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- 1 **noted** that on 18 February 2019, Cabinet:
  - 1.1 noted that there is a problem with the current taxation of the digital economy, both in New Zealand and internationally;
  - 1.2 noted that a number of countries, including Australia, are investigating or implement digital services taxes (DSTs);
  - 1.3 agreed that New Zealand should continue to participate in the OECD discussions on the taxation of the digital economy, with a view to supporting a long-term solution (bearing in mind its effect on New Zealand exporters);
  - 1.4 directed officials to draft a discussion document to get public feedback on the options for taxing the digital economy (being the international solution and the DST);
  - 1.5 noted that the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Revenue, in consultation with the Prime Minister, will report back with a draft of the discussion document prior to its release;

[CAB-19-MIN-0041]

- agreed to the release of the document *Options for Taxing the Digital Economy: A Government Discussion Document* (the discussion document), attached to the paper under DEV-19-SUB-0110, subject to any changes in accordance with paragraphs 3 and 4 below;
- **authorised** the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Revenue to make minor editorial and technical changes to the discussion document prior to its release;
- 4 **noted** that if the OECD proposals change before the release date, the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Revenue will update the description of those proposals in the discussion document.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

BUDGET : SENSITIVE

**BUDGET: SENSITIVE** 

**DEV-19-MIN-0110** 

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Dr Megan Woods (Chair)

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon David Parker

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Eugenie Sage

## Hard-copy distribution:

Minister of Finance

Minister of Revenue

## Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV

BUDGET : SENSITIVE

2